Skip to content

I’m 23 and know how to use the internet.

June 14, 2011

Therefore no, Mom, I do not balance my checkbook.

Then how do you know how much money you have?

With online banking.  That tracks my purchases.

But how do you know if it’s right? Do you keep your receipts and keep track of how much money you have?

No, because I have online banking.  And I remember what I buy.  And it’s right.

Well, I’m going to get my receipts and balance my checkbook.

Cool, I’m going to not waste time.

 

If I had a penny for every time this conversation has happened around the world, I could buy myself an engagement ring and keep up with the Kardashians.

And I would keep track of all the leftover money with online banking.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. mogle permalink
    June 14, 2011 11:17 pm

    obligatory intern constructive criticism: based on the title of this blog post i thought there would be more references to wieners and youtube videos or something. please add more wieners. wieners. wee-ners.

    • June 14, 2011 11:22 pm

      dear intern: spell “weiners” the proper way from now on or else you’re fired.

  2. June 15, 2011 9:19 am

    My mom’s checkbook has lots of receipts added together with the title “Stuff”.

    She should probably try out that online banking thing that all the kids are using these days.

  3. June 30, 2011 12:48 pm

    I can’t even begin to say how many times I’ve had this exact conversation with my mom and/or various other previous generation woman in my family.

    The worst part is that my mom uses online banking. AND still balances her checkbook by hand.

  4. July 1, 2011 9:38 am

    I never get this antiquated “balance my checkbook” thinking. My mom uses online banking, so I’ve never had this convo with her, but when ever I hear someone make a lame joke or compare something to balancing their check book, I think, “oh, so you it’s super easy because you just click on a link and the Internet tells you how much money you have? No?”

Trackbacks

  1. I Think I’ll Lick a Stamp After Programming the VCR « Mark My Words…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

